Contact us

  • E7B,克里斯托弗·翁达杰爵士大街14号
  • Balaclava Rd, North Ryde, 澳大利亚新太阳城
  • 澳大利亚新南威尔士州2109
  • T: +61 (2) 9850 6001


The 科学与工程学院 is a young and dynamic faculty driven by the spirit of discovery. Here we nurture the next generation of science and technology innovators.

From a handful of students on the University’s first day, the Faculty now serves nearly 6000 students across all our programs.

Our research and teaching addresses the big issues faced by society in Australia and globally – the changing environment, 未来材料和燃料, biotechnology, cyber security, to name a few.

The pairing of engineering and science in a single faculty means many of our research discoveries in science see direct technological applications in engineering.


We have led many significant initiatives over the years, including:

  • 早期气候变化研究
  • WiFi的商业化
  • photonics
  • 进化生物学
  • internationally leading research in Earth’s crustal systems.

We are active within many industry partnerships, 商业合作, and joint enterprise initiatives with government, 行业和业务伙伴.


The Faculty consists of seven academic departments, 工程学院, AAO Macquarie, and the Faculties’ associated research centres. Our passionate staff and engaged student body are dedicated to the advancement of science and engineering in the 21st century. View our 部门和学校.


We supervise and progress higher degree research students undertaking their masters and PhDs across a wide range of specialist discipline areas.

Importantly, we conduct world-leading research across the breadth of science and technology disciplines.

We provide research training pathways for students from Australia and around the globe.


The 科学与工程学院 traces its roots back to the founding of the University in 1964. It is the amalgamation of the Divisions of Environmental and Life Sciences (comprising Biological Sciences, Chemistry & 生物分子科学、地球 & 行星科学, Human Geography, 自然地理, and the Graduate School of the Environment), and Information and Communication Sciences (Computing, Electronics, Mathematics, and Physics). You can still see these original divisions in the names of our seven Departments, 一所学院和AAO Macquarie.

It was the appointment of several key figures within these two divisions that drove our approach and strategy to this day:

  • Professor Frank Mercer appointed as the Chair of Biology in 1965.
  • 教授约翰·沃德, a Fellow of the Royal Society and nominated for a Nobel Prize twice, 获委任为大学教授.
  • Professor Ron Aitchison became the first Professor in Electronics in 1971.
  • 教授阿兰人, the first Head of the School of Earth Sciences (and foundation Professor), who had been the foundation professor of Geology at the University of New England before coming to Macquarie.
  • Professor Jim Piper, who developed our world-renown capability in photonics.

Over the years, we have been the home of a number of areas of research excellence, and led many significant initiatives including pioneering climate change research, WiFi的商业化, photonics, 进化生物学, and internationally leading research in Earth's crustal systems. WiFi的商业化, 气候变化方面的早期工作, and the development of gene sequencing are hallmarks of our world-changing achievements in wireless, the environment, and proteomics, respectively.

We have also promoted the growth of science through our various research centres, 包括气候未来中心, GEMOC, 和风险领域.

The launch of our strategic plan 2016-2020 heralded the beginning of a new era for science and engineering at the University, one which looks back and honours the achievements of the past while focusing with excitement on the possibilities and opportunities the future will bring.

The purpose of this Strategic Plan is to provide strategic direction and priorities for the 科学与工程学院. It will be used as a basis for allocating Faculty effort and resources to key priority areas, as well as measuring outcomes against targets set for these priority areas over the next five years.

The 2021-2025 FSE Strategic Plan will be developed in 2021.

Page owner

Last updated: 22 Mar 2021